Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Season championships awarded at Humberstone Speedway

credit: Castillo Dominici
James Michael Friesen won the main event for the PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman, while Chad Chevalier won the track championship on Season Championship Night at Humberstone Speedway. Chad Homan won his seventh Maple Leaf Foods RUSH Late Models race of the season and clinched his first track championship, while Dave Bailey won his seventh feature of the season for the JC Auto Street Stocks and clinched his second consecutive track title, thus completing the Tri-Track (Ohsweken, Merrittville, and Humberstone) Championship Sweep. Jason Coutu celebrated his second win of the season in the Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks with Cole Hardy winning his first track title. Dylan Llord won his fourth Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Truck feature of the season and clinched his second straight divisional title.

Friesen and Jay Mallory brought the DIRTcar Sportsman to the green flag for their 25-lap feature with JMF showing the way. Friesen was dominating, leading flag-to-flag to score the win, his first of the season at Humberstone. With his second-place finish, Chevalier was crowned the 2017 PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman champion.  

Chad Homan took off in the lead from his pole position start in the 20-lap main event for the Maple Leaf Foods RUSH Late Models. Sam Pennacchio took the lead away from Homan on Lap 8, only to have Homan regain the lead on Lap 11. A restart with five to go found Homan, Pennacchio and Rob Pietz working in the top three, with Homan holding off Pennacchio to score his seventh win of the season and clinch the track title.

Derek VanMil and Kyle Pelrine were on the front row for the Street Stocks 20-lap feature event with Pelrine showing the way. Bailey made his way up to third place by Lap 6 and took the lead on Lap 11, going on to score the win and clinch his second straight track championship.

Austin Werstroh and Rob Sauder brought the Mini Stocks to the green flag for their 15-lap feature event with Werstroh showing the way early on. After two cautions, Coutu took the lead and went on to score the win; with his second-place finish, Cole Hardy won the track title by just one point over Coutu.

Mitch Dumont and Danny Wurster made up the front row in the 15-lap feature for the Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks with Dumont showing the way. While working lap traffic, Llord inherited the lead from Dumont. Llord took off in the lead after a late-race restart, going on to score the win and clinch his second straight track title.

The Sportsman Super DIRTcar Series will be completing their three-day Niagara Region swing with the only 100-lap event on their schedule at Humberstone Speedway next Sunday, September 10 for the annual Trevor Wilkens Memorial Safecracker 100 presented by Mike Knapp Ford.  The Street Stocks, Mini Stocks, Pro 4 Trucks and Vintage Cars are also on the racing card. Pit gates open at 4:30 p.m. and 5 p.m. in the grandstands, with racing schedule for 6:30 p.m. Find out more at

No comments:

Post a Comment