Tuesday, September 12, 2017

McPherson wins Safecracker 100 at Humberstone

Cody McPherson celebrates
credit: Softouch Photos
Cody McPherson won the Trevor Wilkens Memorial Safecracker 100 for the Sportsman Super DIRTcar Series on Mike Knapp Ford Night at Humberstone Speedway on Sunday evening. For McPherson, it was his second straight win on the Series and fourth in 2017 at Humberstone. Dave Bailey won his eighth JC Auto Street Stock feature of the season, while Kyle Haynes won his second Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks feature of the season. Mitch Dumont won the main event for the Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks, and Rick St. Pierre won the main event for the Vintage Cars.

Emily Puchalski and Ron Davis III brought the field to the green flag for the Sportsman event with Puchalski showing the way early on. Puchalski continued to lead until Davis took the lead away on Lap 9. On a Lap 13 restart, McPherson made his way into the lead for the first time in the event and led until late in the race, when Chad Chevalier took the lead with eight laps to go; McPherson retook the lead with less than five laps remaining and went on to hold off Chevalier and Brad Rouse to get the win.  

Front-row starter Kyle Pelrine took the early lead in the 20-lap season finale for the Street Stocks. 2017 track champion Bailey took the lead away from Pelrine exiting Turn 4 on Lap 2 and dominated the rest of the way, picking up his eighth win and sixth in a row.

The last racing event on the 2017 schedule is the annual Eve of Destruction next Sunday, September 17. An Enduro, Boat-Trailer Race, Demolition Derbies and more are on the card. Gates open at 9 a.m. in the pits, 10 a.m. in the grandstands and racing begins at noon.  Find out more at

No comments:

Post a Comment