Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Masullo tops Lancaster Dragway “Thank You Thursday” drag racing program

Joe Masullo captured the Top 8 class on Thursday night
credit: Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway
Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway held a Thursday night show for the Franco's Pizza IHRA Drag Racing program as a special opening act for U.S. Open weekend. Thank You Thursday was also special treat for fans as they were able to catch the next-to-last drag race of the 2017 season for just $5. 

In Top 8 Eliminator, Joe Masullo scored his first win of the season while denying Brian Hitchcock his third-straight Top 8 victory. Masullo took advantage of a breakout by Hitchcock to score the win.

Jeff Sobczysnki picked up the win in Mallare Enterprises Top ET over class points leader Dale Eckert. Eckert handed Sobczysnki his first Top win of the season by breaking out by just .02 seconds. He now holds a slim 10 point lead over Jan Winkowski going into the final race of the season. 

In McGard Mod ET, Clay Ricketson grabbed his second victory of the year, defeating Jeff Kerl in the final round. Ricketson's brother Reid clinched the 2017 McGard Mod track championship as he extended his points lead to 90 with one race to go. 

Mike Peters was victorious for the fourth time this season in Hebeler's Sales Bikes & Sleds. Peters rode past the sled of Rob Brandel in the finals to earn the win. He holds a 50-point lead over Lucas Salemi going into next Friday's Season Championship Night. 

Mason Fix scored his second-straight win in Tread City Tire Street to extend his points lead in the class. Fix went head-to-head with Lancaster National Dragway Wall of Famer DJ Raiser in the final round, but Raiser red lighted the race. Fix leads Eddie Semlitsch by 40 points in the race for the Street ET title. 

Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway would like to congratulate the racers and officials that represented the facility last weekend at the IHRA Division 3 Summit Team Finals at Pittsburgh Raceway Park in New Alexandria, PA. Team Lancaster won the Best Team Spirit Award for showing their home track pride and Dale Eckert won in Mod Eliminator. 

The 2017 season comes to an end next Friday, September 30 on Season Championship Night. The TNT Hot Rod Series joins the four weekly classes as we crown our track champions. Time trials start at 5 p.m. Find out more at

No comments:

Post a Comment