Tuesday, September 26, 2017

2017 U.S. Open: Hossfeld tops Sportsman field Saturday at Lancaster Speedway

Lancaster National Speedway kicked off the 29th annual U.S. Open weekend on Saturday night with over 100 cars pitside across four divisions. Chuck Hossfeld captured the main event of the program, winning the 75-lap Race of Champions Sunoco Sportsman feature for the second year in a row.
In other X-Press Signs Stock Car Series action, Tim Gullo won the Race of Champions Super Stock feature,  Kevin Bainbridge won the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinder U.S. Open feature for the second-straight year, and Dave Wollaber won the NYPA TQ Midget feature.

Sportsman winner Chuck Hossfeld
39 Sunoco Sportsman attempted to qualify for the 28-car starting field for round two of the Race of Champions Sportsman Series. Neal Dietz Jr. established a track record for Sportsman cars during qualifying with a quick time of 18.174 seconds.

Sportsman rookie Jeremy Haudricourt and Kevin Miller led the field to the opening green flag. Miller and Tommy Catalano eventually settled into the top two spots when the race restarted. Catalano took the lead from Miller on Lap 5 before pulling away from the field early on.

Defending race winner Hossfeld started ninth and was on the move from the drop of the green flag. He moved up to fourth place by Lap 6 and took over the runner-up position from Miller just five laps later. Catalano and Hossfeld pulled away during a long green flag run through the middle stages of the event, with Hossfeld taking the lead from Catalano on Lap 38. The pair caught lap traffic shortly thereafter and Catalano was able to maneuver around Hossfeld and a lapped car to regain the lead on Lap 49. The 31 laps of continuous green flag racing was interrupted moments later for a spin by Owen Bednasz on Lap 49. It took Hossfeld two laps after the race restarted to regain the lead on Lap 51.

The biggest wreck of the feature happened on lap 69 for multi-car pileup that included Owen Bednasz, Andy Lewis and Timmy Catalano. All drivers were ok, but all three cars suffered serious damage. Hossfeld held on through a few final restarts to win the U.S. Open Sportsman feature for a second year in a row. The victory gives him seven career U.S. Open with five in the Modifieds to go along with his two Sportsman wins. That gives Hossfeld the record for most overall U.S Open victories.

Catalano settled for second, followed by Tyler Rypkema in third; Daryl Lewis Jr. and George Skora III rounded out the top five.

Super Stock winner Tim Gullo
Joel Gleason and Joe Mancuso led the field to the green flag in the 30-lap Race of Champions Super Stock feature, with Mancuso taking the early lead. Gullo came up through the field quickly after starting in the 10th position, moving into the second spot by Lap 6. Mancuso slipped up around Lap 23 when pushed high in Turn 2, allowing Gullo to take the lead; Mancuso eventually got tangled up with Gleason as the pair battled for second place with less than five laps to go.

Gullo cruised the rest of the way for this fourth RoC Super Stock win at Lancaster in 2017 and his first victory in the U.S. Open. Eric Hadley finished second followed by Tommy Reese, Terry Cheetham and TJ Cochrane.

4-Cylinder winner Kevin Bainbridge
Kevin Bainbridge captured his second straight U.S. Open win in the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders. Bainbridge started 10th and picked his way through the field to get to the front. The race came down to catching teammate Chris Bugenhagen for the lead in the closing laps. Both cars approached lap traffic going into Turn 1 on Lap 22 when Bugenhagen got hung up behind a lapped car and Bainbridge drove past him on the inside to take the lead. Bainbridge held off Dave Brunka in the final two laps to secure his second U.S. Open win a row, with Bugenhagen settling for third. Jason Anasiewicz and pole sitter Russ Hartke rounded out the top five.

NYPA TQ Midget winner Dave Wollaber
Dave Wollaber captured his fifth career U.S. Open win in the NYPA TQ Midgets. Wollaber took the lead with just seven laps to go on a three-wide pass between leader Kyle Hutchinson and the lapped car of Vinny Christiano Jr. This was Wollaber’s first U.S. Open win since 2008. Bobby Holmes finished second followed by Hutchinson, Erik Musto and Brandon Zavarella.

Keep up with the action at

No comments:

Post a Comment