Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Wollaber wins Mini Indy 50 at Holland

Dave Wollaber takes the NYPA TQ Midget win at Holland
credit: Holland Speedway
Dave Wollaber continued his winning ways at Holland International Speedway on Saturday evening, winning the Jerry Gradl Sr. Memorial Mini Indy 50 for the NYPA TQ Midgets on VSP Marketing Group presents First Responders Night. In other action from Saturday night, multi-time Getzoni Nationwide Insurance Agency NASCAR Pro Modified champion Neal Dietz Jr. won the Pro Modified feature, while Tim Welshans earned another victory in the Bank of Holland Chargers. Ben Russo won the main event for the Advance Auto Parts Hornets, Anthony Riforgiato won the INEX Legends feature, and Marty Hughes continued his perfect season by winning the M&M U Pull-It Figure 8 feature.

Veteran racer Charlie DiRosa and second-year driver Tony Petrea brought the field of NYPA TQ Midgets to the green flag for the annual running of the Jerry Gradl Sr Memorial Mini Indy 50, with third-place starter Erik Musto taking the early lead. Just three laps into the event, Wollaber drove by Musto to take over the lead. The caution flew on Lap 25 for a mid-race break to fill the fuel tanks and make slight adjustments to the cars, with Wollaber controlling the field over Jonathan Reid, Tommy Catalano, Andy Nye and Mack DeMan. AJ Hessler flipped after making contact with a spinning Petrea, bringing out the red flag on Lap 26. On the restart, Wollaber and Catalano exchanged the lead for several circuits before Wollaber took the lead for good with just three laps remaining and went on to score the win.  

Tim Welshans took the lead from his pole position on the opening circuit of the 25-lap feature for the Chargers division, with Nik Welshans and Josh Hathaway battling for second for most of the distance, just a couple of car lengths back of race leader Tim Welshans, as the trio were the class of the field on this night. Tim scored the win over brother Nik and Hathaway.

Holland’s 58th season continues on Saturday, September 2 with the 18th running of the George Decker Memorial 75, plus a full Holland NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program on Season Championship Night. The Chargers will be running a 50-lap event and the Hornets will be running the inaugural Butch Palmer Memorial 32. Pit gates will open at 2:30 p.m. with grandstands opening at 4:45 p.m. and heat racing at 5 p.m. Find out more at

No comments:

Post a Comment