Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Nye extends points lead with Sportsman win at Lancaster Speedway

Lancaster National Speedway hosted Big Rig Night presented by Mallare Enterprises on Saturday night for the X-Press Signs Stock Car Series. It was also the next-to-last night of the regular season with only one more race before the track champions are crowned for the 2017 season.

Shawn Nye extended his points lead in the Sunoco Sportsman with his second feature win of the season, while Mark Hoch was declared the official winner of the Ken Heckler Tribute 51 for the Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks. Tim Gullo picked up his third Race of Champions Super Stock feature win at Lancaster in 2017, and Dan Dressel grabbed his first win of the year in the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders.

Sportsman winner Shawn Nye
The 35-lap Sunoco Sportsman feature got off to rough start as outside pole sitter, Jayme Thompson, spun out while coming to the green flag. Dick Kluth couldn’t avoid her and slammed into Thompson’s stopped car. This moved division points leader Nye to the outside pole alongside Owen Bednasz for the restart.

When the green flag finally waved it was Nye getting the jump on Bednasz to take the lead. Bednasz ran second until Lap 9 when he and Jake Lyon tangled in Turn 3 after a restart. Both cars were able to continue, but they had to go to the rear of the field.

Bednasz’s misfortune moved Kevin Miller to the runner-up position. Nye and Miller were the class of the field for the rest of the race as they held the top two spots. Nye led all 35 laps to capture his second win of the season. The victory extended his points lead in the division as he earned the maximum of 70 points with the feature win plus winning his heat and leading the most laps in the feature.

Teammates Zach Truesdail and Tyler Rypkema battled fiercely for third place for most of the race with Truesdail narrowly taking the final podium position. Bednasz came back to finish fifth.
The Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks ran their longest race of the year as they paid tribute to former racer and official Ken Heckler with a 51-lap tribute race. Jerry Kosmowski and Trevor Pettit led the field of 27 Street Stocks to the green flag with Pettit taking the top spot early on and holding the lead until Lap 8 when he was overtaken by Max Northem. Northem, who was celebrating his 17th  birthday, led for three laps before giving way to Brian Hoffman, who pulled out to a straightaway-sized lead. He led until the yellow flag waved lap on Lap 26 for a competition caution at the race’s halfway point. That allowed officials to invert the top 11 cars following a random draw to decide how many cars were inverted.

Street Stock winner Mark Hoch

Eric Brown was shown as the leader after the inversion followed by Ken Maltby, Pettit, Jarrod Brown and Mark Hoch. Division points leader Rich Sharpe started 20th and made his way up to second place before the top 11 were inverted; that put him back in 10th place as Sharpe was on a quest for his tenth feature win of the season. It took Sharpe less than 10 laps to make his way back to the runner-up position as he moved into second on Lap 34, when a caution set up a restart with Brown and Sharpe lined up on the front row. Sharpe took over the lead when the race resumed.

Jake Wylie moved his way to the front and took advantage of a restart on Lap 42 to drive by Sharpe and take over the lead. At that point, Sharpe starting going backwards through the field and eventually stopped on the track on Lap 44 with a flat tire. The final seven laps were dominated by Wylie as he was the first car to cross the finish line. The win, however, was awarded to Hoch after Wylie and second-place finisher Brown were disqualified in post-race inspection. The win was Hoch’s first victory of the season. Rich Pocobello was credited with second, with Hoffman in third. Sharpe got a new tire and was able to come home fourth and put a lock on the 2017 Advance Auto Parts Street Stock championship with one race remaining. Trevor Pettit rounded out the top five.

RoC Super Stock winner Tim Gulllo

The Race of Champions Super Stocks made their fourth visit of the season to Lancaster. Tommy Krawczyk and Joe Mancuso battled for the lead in the opening stages of the 30-lap feature before Mancuso developed a problem on Lap 11 and brought out the caution when he stopped on the track. Mancuso was able to drive his way to back to fourth place before a caution on Lap 17 allowed Mancuso to catch up to the lead pack once again. With 10 laps to go Mancuso was once again in second place and looking to challenge Krawczyk for the lead, but on Lap 23 Mancuso and Krawczyk made contact in Turn 4, which spun out Krawczyk and forced Mancuso to the rear of the field. This gave the lead to RoC Super Stock Series points leader Gullo, who was able to cruise for the final seven laps to score his third Super Stock win at Lancaster in 2017. Robert Fink finished second with Ryan Lagoda, Joel Gleason and Jeff Whalen rounding out the top five.

4-Cylinder winner Dan Dressel
Dan Dressel led all 25 laps to win the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinder feature, but the bigger story was the battle for the division championship. Jason Anasiewicz led Bobby Woch by six points at the start of the night. Both drivers were in the same heat race, and Woch won the race to pick up five bonus points, while Anasiewicz had his right rear wheel fall off during the heat race and was unable to finish. This shrank his lead to one point for the feature. Woch started sixth for the main event while Anasiewicz had to start 14th. It took Woch just 10 laps to move into second place behind his teammate Dressel. Anasiewicz meanwhile methodically worked his way through the field to move into third place with five laps to go. With Woch finishing second and Anasiewicz in third, it unofficially gives Woch a five point lead heading to Season Championship Night.

Lancaster National Speedway closes out the regular season for the X-Press Signs Stock Series on September 9 with Season Championship Night. The track champions will be crowned in all three weekly divisions plus the NYPA TQ Midgets will also be in action. Racing starts at 6:30 p.m. The rain date for Season Championship Night is Sunday, September 10 at 2 p.m. Keep up with the action at

No comments:

Post a Comment