Monday, July 17, 2017

Skora III gets Sportsman win at Lancaster Speedway

George Skora III
Lancaster National Speedway paid tribute to its past with Homecoming/Retro Night on Saturday night, with 82 cars pitside for an action-packed night of racing. George Skora III won the Sunoco Sportsman feature, while Dave Russell picked up the win in the Race of Champions Late Models. Rich Sharpe scored his seventh win of the year in the Advanced Auto Parts Street Stocks, Dave Brunka earned his first career win in the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders, and Mark Tychoniewicz picked up the win in the Classic Asphalt Modified feature. 

Mark Pennell and Jake Lyon led the field of 20 Sportsman to the opening green flag. Pennell led the first four laps before being overtaken by Lyon on a restart. Last week’s feature winner, Kevin Miller, chased Lyon for the lead until Lap 19 when the pair made contact in Turn 1. Lyon spun out, as did Miller shortly thereafter, creating chaos as the field tried to avoid both cars. Several got caught up in the incident, including Tommy Catalano, Mark Pennell, Shawn Nye and Zach Truesdail. This reshaped the front of the field as it moved Skora to the lead, with Andy Jankowiak, Scott Wylie, Tony Carbone and Jake Vernon rounding out the top five.

On the ensuing restart, Sherri Hogan’s car dropped a massive amount of fluid on the racing surface, which required a lengthy cleanup. The race finally resumed with Skora leading Wylie and Carbone after Jankowiak dropped out under caution with a suspension problem. Skora and Wylie pulled away from the pack throughout the second half of the race with Skora hanging for the win. It was Skora’s first Sportsman win at Lancaster since the final regular season race of 2016. Wylie, Carbone, Tommy Catalano and Jake Vernon rounded out the top five. 

Dave Russell
The Race of Champions Late Models made their first appearance of the season, with Terry Weldy leading the opening laps of the 30-lap feature from the pole position before giving way to Russell on Lap 7. Russell then held the field in check until a caution with two laps to go set up a final restart. The green-white-checkered finish gave Bobby Weber a final shot at Russell for the win. Weber tried to get a run on the outside when the race restarted, but he was thwarted by Russell, who held on for his first Late Model win at Lancaster since the 2015 U.S. Open. Weber settled for second with Eldon King III in third. Tommy Catalano drove Nick Crassi’s backup car to a fourth place finish after not even running a heat race. Frank Batista rounded out the top five. 

Sharpe continued his domination in the Advanced Auto Parts Street Stocks with his fifth win a row and seventh overall. Sharpe passed Dave Wilson for the lead on Lap 6 and never looked back as he cruised to the win.

Brunka claimed his first ever Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinder win, passing Chris Pennell for the lead on Lap 8. He led until Lap 21 when Jason Anasiewicz got by him with a bump-and-run maneuver. Anaziewicz crossed the finish line first, but was penalized for the contact and the victory was awarded to Brunka. 

Lancaster National Speedway returns to action on July 29 with Autograph Night. The Race of Champions Late Models will be back along with the Sunoco Sportsman, Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks and Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders. Racing starts at 6:30 p.m. Keep up with the action at

Dave Brunka

Mark Tychoniewicz
Rich Sharpe

No comments:

Post a Comment