Saturday, July 1, 2017

Rypkema wins Ol’ Boy Cup 60 RoC Modified race at Lancaster

Tyler Rypkema won the third annual Ol’ Boy Cup 60 Bill Colton Memorial presented by Thermal Foams at Lancaster National Speedway on Thursday night. It was the first ever Race of Champions Modified Series win for the 20-year-old Rypkema. In other action, Rich Sharpe scored his fifth win of the season in the Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks, Jason Anasiewicz earned his fourth win of the year in the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders and Tim Gullo won the 25-lap feature for the Race of Champions Super Stock Series.

RoC Modified winner Tyler Rypkema

Scott Wylie and Mike Leaty led 21 Race of Champions Modifieds to the green flag, with Leaty taking the lead and Tommy Catalano settling into second place early. A few laps later Catalano passed Leaty to the inside to take the lead.

The first caution of the event happened on Lap 13 for a spin by Kevin Miller. The yellow flag flew again one lap later when Patrick Emerling spun out in Turn 4. Catalano and George Skora III battled for the lead on the restart, with Skora eventually taking over the top spot on Lap 17. Shortly after that Catalano started to slow on the track with a mechanical issue, moving Rypkema to second.

Half of the field was involved in a massive pile up on Lap 32 after Daren Scherer’s car slowed in the middle of the pack in Turn 4. Several cars collided as they tried to dodge Scherer, who suffered brake failure in the narrowest part of the race track. Tommy Catalano, Danny Knoll Jr., Amy Catalano, Bill Mislin, Camden Barber, John Barber, Alan Bookmiller and Kevin Miller were some of the cars that got caught up in the wreck.

Only about 12 cars remained in competition once the wreck was cleared. Skora was shown as the leader ahead of Rypkema, Andy Jankowiak, Emerling, Wylie and Leaty. On Lap 43, Rypkema made a bold move going into Turn 3 as he drove hard into the corner underneath Skora. The pass paid off as he had wrestled the lead away for good just one lap later. Unfortunately for Skora his night ended shortly after that as he stopped on the track with engine issues on Lap 53.

Rypkema had to fend off Chuck Hossfeld in the closing laps, with Hossfeld moving to the inside of Rypkema as they went under the white flag. The pair made contact in Turn 1 with both drivers saving their cars from spinning out. Rypkema had just enough momentum to maintain the lead and held on to cross the finish line first.

The win was the second career Modified victory for Rypkema and first ever on the Race of Champions Modified circuit. Hossfeld was second, followed by Leaty in third. Jankowiak and Emerling rounded out the top five.

Street Stock winner Rich Sharpe
Sharpe earned his fifth win of the year after starting eighth in the 21-car field and passing Mark Hoch for the lead with seven laps to go. Sharpe cruised the final seven laps to earn the win. Hoch finished second followed by Keith Flanigan in third. Ken Maltby came home fourth, followed by Jake Wylie in fifth.

Super Stock winner Tim Gullo
Gullo started from the pole and led all 25 laps of the Race of Champions Super Stock feature. Tom Barron finished second, followed by Joel Gleason in third. Ryan Lagoda and Joe Mancuso rounded out the top five.

4-Cylinder winner Jason Anasiewicz (3) battles
eventual runner-up Dan Dressel (09)
Anasiewicz found himself in victory lane despite crossing the finish line second. Dave Brunka led most of the race until contact with Bobby Woch with two laps to go took him out of contention. Woch was penalized three positions for the contact, which gave the win to Anasiewicz. Dan Dressel finished second, followed by Brunka, Woch and Kevin Bainbridge.

Lancaster National Speedway resumes X-Press Signs Stock Car racing on Saturday, July 8 with First Responders Night presented by 10-75 Emergency Lighting – all first responders receive $5 admission with valid ID. The Sunoco Sportsman return to action alongside the Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks, Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders and the Race of Champions Super Stocks. Racing starts at 6:30 p.m. Keep up with the action at

No comments:

Post a Comment