Monday, May 15, 2017

Lancaster Dragway opens 2017 season

Top 8 winner Mike Nowak
credit: Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway
Lancaster National Dragway kicked off the 2017 season for its Franco’s Pizza IHRA Drag Racing Series with a large turnout of competitors. Leading the list of winners was Mike Nowak in Top 8 Eliminator, Jason Bezinque in Buffalo Street Outlaws Limited, Mike Peters in Hebeler’s Bikes & Sleds and DJ Raiser in Tread City Tire Street.

Nowak picked up the Top 8 victory over Mark Talmadge despite Talmadge having a one-second advantage. The Buffalo Street Outlaws made their first visit to Lancaster as part of the opening day festivities, with Jason Bezinque defeating Brian Prior in the heads up final.

The Hebeler’s Sales Bikes & Sleds final came down a pair of veterans in Mike Peters and Dick Nearhoof. Nearhoof broke out by less than a tenth of a second to hand Peters the win, which kicks off his class championship defense with a victory. Donny “DJ” Raiser cruised to the win in Tread City Tire Street over Mark Schifferle. 

Mallare Enterprises Top ET and McGard Mod ET could not declare a winner due to the midnight curfew. Both classes were down to their final pairing with Pete Maduri Jr. and Kevin Frank remaining in Top and Clay Ricketson and Joe Skok in Mod.

IHRA Drag Racing resumes at Lancaster National Dragway on Friday, May 19 with Buffalo Street Outlaws Real Street and Unlimited Big Tire joining the four weekly classes of racing. Time trials start at 5 p.m. Keep up with the action at

No comments:

Post a Comment