Sunday, April 30, 2017

Jankowiak takes RoC Modified win at Lancaster

Andy Jankowiak
Andy Jankowiak of Tonawanda took the opening round of the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified schedule with his Saturday win in the Fans in the Stands 75 at Lancaster National Speedway, his first ever Modified win at Lancaster. In other action, Tim Gullo of Elmira won the Race of Champions Super Stock event, Rich Sharpe of Lancaster won the Advance Auto Parts Street Stock feature and Jason Anasiewicz of Lancaster picked up his second-straight win in the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders.

Amy Catalano and Tyler Rypkema led the Modifieds to the opening green flag with Rypkema grabbing the early lead. The most serious incident of the day happened after a restart on Lap 39, as Kevin Miller and Catalano touched tires going down the backstretch, sending Catalano hard into the wall outside wall. Catalano walked away from the accident, but her day was over.

Tim Gullo
Following clean-up, Jankowiak took the lead from Rypkema after a restart on Lap 46 and didn’t look back. Jankowiak took the checkered for his first win in the Race of Champions Modified Series at Lancaster. He is a three-time track champion with numerous wins in the Sportsman, Street Stocks, TQ Midgets and 4-Cylinders, but it took him several years to triumph at his home track in a Modified. The win also came his very first start driving a Modified owned by 2005 Modified track champion Tom McGrath.

Skora settled for second, followed by Emerling, Hossfeld and Daren Scherer.

Rich Sharpe
The Race of Champions Super Stocks also opened their season at Lancaster on Saturday. Gullo, who started from the outside pole position, earned his first win at Lancaster after a spirited battle with Joe Mancuso. Mancuso finished second followed by Josh Hunter, Dana Novoa and Frank Petroski.

In the Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks, 2015 track champion Rich Sharpe made his first start of the season a memorable one as he captured the 25-lap feature. Sharpe drove around the outside of Tommy Wentland for the lead on Lap 10 and never looked back. Mark Hoch finish second, followed by Nik Welshans in third. Wentland and Ken Maltby rounded out the top five.

Jason Anasiewicz (3)
Jason Anasiewicz remained perfect in the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders, leading every lap to win the feature for the second week in a row. Anasiewicz faced stiff competition from Kevin Bainbridge and Bobby Woch this time around, but he held strong in the front of the field. Bainbridge, Woch, Dan Dressel and Dave Brunka completed the top five.

Lancaster National Speedway closes out the Saturday matinee portion of its schedule this Saturday, May 6 at 2 p.m. with the first visit of the year from the X-Press Signs Late Models plus the Sunoco Sportsman, Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks and the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders. Keep up with this season’s action at

No comments:

Post a Comment