Monday, November 14, 2016

Lancaster Dragway honors 2016 champions, award winners

(l-r) Dale Eckert, Shawn Beatty, Mike Peters, Mason Fix and Victoria Young
credit: Neffke Motorsports Photography
Lancaster National Dragway honored its 2016 Franco's Pizza IHRA Drag Racing track champions Friday night at the Season Awards Banquet at the Variety Club Banquet Hall in Lancaster. Racers signed up for the weekly points program shared in a $10,000 point fund, part of which came from the sales of Sunoco Race Fuel at the track during the season. In addition to their points fund money and trophy, 2016 track champions received a commemorative jacket from Sunoco and Insinger Race Fuels. 

All of the 2016 Lancaster National Dragway class champions were honored during the festivities, including Shawn Beatty in Mallare Enterprises Top ET, Dale Eckert (and Clay Ricketson) in McGard Mod ET, Mason Fix (with Jim Bruckman and Nick Morrissey) in Tread City Tire Street and Mike Peters in Hebeler's Bikes & Sleds. 

The champions from the two classes that ran as part of the Advance Auto Parts Tuesday night program were also honored. Victoria Young was the K100/ Bauer Racing Junior Dragster champion while Anthony Lazzazero won the Teen Championship Racing title. The Buffalo Outlaw Street Outlaws honored their champions as well, with Moe Alfaqih (BSO Street Outlaws) and Terry Doyle (Limited Street and Real Street) taking home the hardware. 

Buffalo Street Outlaws competitor Alex Wesolowski was presented with the 2016 Exemplary Award for his dedication to the sport of drag racing. Junior Dragster champion Victoria Young was the recipient of the Most Improved Driver award as she ascended to the top of her class in just her second season. Buffalo Street Outlaw racers Douglas Vanstrom and Moe Alfaqih were co-winners of the Showman of the Year Award.

The 2017 season at Lancaster National Dragway will begin on Friday, April 28 with a test and tune session. The first points race will be Friday, May 5. Keep up with the off-season at

No comments:

Post a Comment