Monday, November 14, 2016

2016 Lancaster Speedway champions, award winners honored

(l-r) Jake Lyon, Dave Wilson and Kevin Bainbridge
Lancaster National Speedway officials, drivers and teams honored the track’s 2016 champions and award winners on Saturday during the annual Season Awards Banquet at the Variety Club Banquet Hall in Lancaster.

Lancaster paid out nearly $22,000 in points fund money to its drivers during the evening. The points fund comes from a portion of the money collected from the sale of Hoosier Racing Tires and Sunoco Race Fuel at the speedway during the season, plus money collected by the Friends of Auto Racing (FOAR Score) Fan Club from its weekly 50/50 tickets sales. FOAR Score's contribution to the points fund was over $12,000 this season, which is double the amount that was raised last year. The top ten points finishers in each of Lancaster's three weekly home track classes took home a share of the points money.

Headlining the class of 2016 track champions was Sunoco Sportsman champion Jake Lyon of Elma. Lyon won three features in 2016, including two of the final three races of the year. His title run was cemented by a stretch of five races late in the year where he finished either first or second.

Track official Cory Lischer, recipient of the Alex Friesen
Spirit of Racing Award
credit: Lancaster National Speedway
Dave Wilson of Hamburg was crowned the 2016 Advance Auto Parts Street Stock champion. Wilson, in his first full season in Street Stocks at Lancaster, finished in the top 10 in 13 out 14 races in 2016. He also collected three feature wins, including the Jeff Brown Sr. Memorial in June.

The 2016 Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinder champion was Kevin Bainbridge of Buffalo. Bainbridge dominated the division with eight feature wins, including the U.S. Open, and finished in the top 5 in all but one of the 14 features races this season.

All three track champions were presented with a commemorative jacket from Sunoco and Insinger Race Fuels.

Speedway official Cory Lischer was presented with the Alex Friesen Spirit of Racing Award, which is presented to a member of the Lancaster Speedway community that exemplifies the spirit of late speedway owner Alex Friesen by working hard during the races and have plenty of fun after the races as well.

Paul "Woody" Thompson, recipient of the Tommy Druar
Contribution to Racing Award, with Mickey Druar
credit: Lancaster National Speedway
Car owner Paul "Woody" Thompson was given the Tommy Druar Contribution to Racing Award. Thompson worked as a crew member with several high profile drivers before becoming a car owner. He fields a team of four cars in the 4-Cylinder division. His team had its best season ever with four wins and a second-place points finish with driver Dan Dressel.

Track president Tim Packman thanked the drivers, crews, sponsors and officials in attendance for helping to make this past season the best one for Lancaster's stock car program in a decade. He also vowed to continue the improvements at the facility in 2017 and build upon the successes of this past season.

The 2017 stock car season at Lancaster will kick off on Saturday, April 22. A full schedule of events will be released in the coming weeks. Keep up with the off-season at

No comments:

Post a Comment