Tuesday, November 15, 2016

2016 champions, award winners honored by Humberstone Speedway

credit: Castillo Dominici
Humberstone Speedway hosted its 2016 Awards Banquet at the Americana Resort in Niagara Falls on Saturday evening.

Brad Rouse from St. Catharines, Ontario picked up the 2016 title in the PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman. Dennis Lunger Jr. from Albion, PA won his second straight Pinty’s Delicious Foods RUSH Late Model Championship. Dave Bailey from Hagersville, Ontario won the JC Auto Street Stock Championship, and was also crowned track champion at both Ohsweken and Merrittville. Kyle Haynes from Caledon, Ontario won the Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks championship, his first track title at Humberstone. Dylan Llord from St. Catharines, Ontario won the Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks championship behind 10 feature wins.

Most Improved Driver Awards was presented to Joey Mastrioanni, Tim Gillespie, Kyle Pelrine, Kyle Haynes and Craig Vlasic. The Most Sportsmanlike Driver Awards went to Justin Sharp, Jeff Dayman, Bryce Richardson, Garnet Wilson and Andy Imbeault. Chad Chevalier, Jeff Dayman, Bryce Richardson, Brandon Iudiciani and Kyle Tomaski won the Best Appearing Car/Truck Awards. Hard Charger Awards went to Brad Rouse, Dennis Lunger Jr., Jason Fontaine, Evan Curtis and Dylan Llord. Jay Mallory, Colton Ledingham, Andrew Reece, Brandon Iudiciani and Kyle Tomaski were the recipients of Hard Luck Awards.

Dylan Davidson, Travis Martineau, Andrew Reece, Olivier Larocque and Mitch Dumont were honored by being named Rookie of the Year in their respective divisions.

The Pete Cosco Dedication to the Sport Award went to Pro 4 Truck driver Kyle Tomaski. Tomaski went out into the region to help promote Humberstone at different events throughout the season.

The Jim Simpson Crew Chief of the Year Award went to Jeff Armstrong. Armstrong, a DIRTcar Sportsman driver, also wrenched on stepson Tyler Puchalski’s Sportsman as well as a Sportsman and a Pro 4 Truck for Emily Puchalski.

The Trevor Wilkens Driver of the Year went to Dave Bailey. Bailey won the track titles at all three tracks in the Niagara Region (Ohsweken, Merrittville and Humberstone) and just missed out on the overall title for the Duel on the Dirt, a four track series between Brighton, Ohsweken, Merrittville and Humberstone.

Race Director Tom Beales spoke to the crowd that was on hand, releasing the speedway’s plan for the 2017 season. New improvements to the speedway will be made including an upgrade to the track lighting system. The first event for the 2017 will be the second annual Dawn of Destruction, taking place the first weekend of May. More information about a potential race night change will be announced after the DIRTcar fall promoters meeting in Syracuse in mid-November.

Keep up with the off-season at

No comments:

Post a Comment