Monday, October 3, 2016

Beatty, Eckert, Peters and Fix clinch 2016 Lancaster Dragway titles

Bikes & Sleds champ Mike Peters
credit: Neffke Motorsports Photography
Lancaster National Dragway wrapped up its 2016 Franco’s Pizza IHRA Drag Racing season on Friday night as the track champions were crowned for all four weekly classes. The season finale also featured four drivers ending the year with their first wins of the season.

Mike Nowak picked up the win in Top 8 Eliminator, defeating Mark Talmadge in a double breakout with Nowak running just .001 seconds quicker than his 4.98 dial-in. 

Jan Winkowski’s Lunatic Fringe Chevy Nova earned the win in Mallare Enterprises Top ET over Shawn Beatty. Beatty and his co-driver Chris Van Baalen received the consolation prize, however, as they clinched the 2016 Mallare Enterprises Top ET championship.

In McGard Mod ET, Ben Haight picked up his first win of the season over Bob Richards. The Mod ET championship went to Dale Eckert and his co-driver Clay Ricketson. It is Eckert’s seventh-straight title and tenth in the last 11 years.

Mike Peters locked up the 2016 Hebeler’s Sales Sleds & Bikes championship with his fourth win of the season, defeating Brian Babiak in the final round to put the exclamation point on his year.
In Tread City Tire Street, David Weller earned his first win of the season over Louie San George in the final round. Second-generation driver Mason Fix, along with teammates Nick Morrissey and Jim Bruckman, clinched his first career championship in the class.

The 2016 champions from Lancaster’s Advance Auto Parts Tuesday Night Drag Racing program were Victoria Young in Junior Dragsters and Anthony Lazzazero in Teen Championship Racing. 

Lancaster National Dragway will celebrate the 2016 season and honor its champions at the Season Awards Banquet on Friday, November 11 at the Variety Club banquet hall. Ticket details to be announced shortly at

No comments:

Post a Comment