Monday, September 12, 2016

Davis III takes Wilkens Memorial at Humberstone Speedway

Ron Davis III in victory lane
credit: Steve Petty
Ron Davis III won the Trevor Wilkens Memorial for the Sportsman Super DIRTcar Series Sunday night at Humberstone Speedway . Tim Gillespie won his first Pinty’s RUSH Late Model feature of the season, while Jason Fontaine won his fourth JC Auto Street Stock feature of the season. Olivier Larocque won his first Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks feature of the season, and Kyle Tomaski won his second consecutive Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks feature of the season.

Brianna Ladouceur and Martin Pelletier led the Sportsman Super DIRTcar Series to the green flag for their 50-lap feature with Ladouceur taking the lead early on. Davis III took the lead for the first time on Lap 18 until Lap 24, when Pelletier took over. Pelletier and Davis battled for the lead in the late stages, with Davis regaining the lead with five laps to go. Davis held off Pelletier and Dave Marcuccilli to score his second win on the tour in three days.

Sam Pennacchio took the lead off the start Pinty’s Delicious Foods RUSH Late Models feature, but Gillespie took the lead away at the end of Lap 1. Gillespie held off Jeff Dayman, Dennis Lunger and Pennacchio in the final stages to earn his first Late Model victory of the season.

Next Sunday, September 18, is the Safecracker 100 for the Sportsman. It is also season championship night for the Late Models, Street Stocks, Mini Stocks and the Pro 4 Trucks. Gates open at 4:30 p.m. with racing getting underway at 6:30 p.m. Find out more at

No comments:

Post a Comment