Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Klager victorious in Mod Lites at Humberstone

TUSA Mod Light winner Paul Klager
Klager victorious in Mod Lites at Humberstone
Paul Klager took the win in the annual TUSA Mod Lite Tour visit to Humberstone Speedway on Sunday, while Cody McPherson picked up the victory in the PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman. Dennis Lunger Jr. won his sixth Pinty’s RUSH Late Model feature of the season and Dave Bailey won his fourth JC Auto Street Stocks feature of the season. Dylan Llord picked up another victory in the Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks, and Kyle Haynes won his fourth Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks feature.

Jamie Gilbert and Derek Wagner led the Mod Lites to the green flag for their 20-lap feature event, which was slowed by a Lap 1 red flag when Chris Watson flipped in Turn 3. On the restart, Gilbert and Wagner battled for the lead with Wagner taking the lead before losing the handle in Turn 2 in Lap 3. Gilbert continued to show the way with Klager running in second. Klager used the outside to take the lead on Lap 5 and drove away from the field to pick up the victory, for his second tour triumph of the weekend.

Chad Chevalier and Brad Rouse battled for the lead early on in the DIRTcar Sportsman main event, while McPherson worked his way into the top five by Lap 15. After charging through positions five through two, McPherson took the lead on Lap 22 and didn’t look back, grabbing the win over Chevalier.

Lunger Jr. and Tim Gillespie led the RUSH Late Models to the green flag, with Lunger grabbing the lead as Rob Pietz challenged Gillespie for second early on. Lunger checked out on the field and drove away to earn his sixth win of the season.

The month comes to a close on Sunday, August 28 with the second annual Pete Cosco Memorial 75 for the 358 DIRTcar Modifieds. This will be an emotional night as the track honors the man who is responsible for keeping the racing action alive at Humberstone. A full card of Sportsman, Late Models, Street Stocks, Pro 4 Trucks and Mini Stocks will round out the show. Gates open at 4:30 p.m. with racing getting underway at 6:30 p.m. Find out more at

No comments:

Post a Comment