Monday, August 22, 2016

Emerling wins Tommy/Tony Memorial 110 at Lancaster Speedway

Patrick Emerling
Patrick Emerling’s incredible 2016 season continued on Saturday night at Lancaster National Speedway, capturing the 27th annual Tommy Druar/Tony Jankowiak Memorial 110 event for the Race of Champions Modified Series for the second year in a row. Emerling won the race without making a pit stop after most of the field pitted for a new right rear tire at some point during the event.

T.J. Potrzebowski and Chuck Hossfeld led a field of 24 Modifieds to the green flag, with Hossfeld grabbing the lead on Lap 1 with Potrzebowski and Emerling settling in behind him. Emerling wasted little time in going after Hossfeld, taking over the lead on Lap 5.

Ryan Preece
NASCAR Xfinity Series driver and Whelen Modified standout Ryan Preece made his first career start at Lancaster in the Booker Motorsports No. 40, starting third but following Emerling to the front and taking over the lead on Lap 12.

George Skora III passed Preece for the lead on Lap 17, but relinquished the lead during a pit stop following a Lap 30 caution flag. Skora brought out the second yellow flag on Lap 41 when he developed left front flat tire. He was able to get back to the pits and stay on the lead lap.

Mark Hoch (07)
Emerling took over the lead and stayed out front until the checkered flag, in spite of Hossfeld’s best efforts. Emerling scored his third Modified win of the season at Lancaster and sixth overall on the RoC Modified trail. He now has 11 total wins in 2016, including four Sunoco Sportsman wins at Lancaster. Hossfeld settled for runner-up, while Daryl Lewis Jr. finished a career best third. Mike Leaty finished fourth, while Skora battled back to round out the top five.

Mark Hoch was declared the official winner of the Advance Auto Parts Street Stock feature, his second win of the season. Hoch was awarded the win after the first and second place finishers were disqualified in post-race inspection.

Kevin Bainbridge
Kevin Bainbridge picked up his seventh win of the season in the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders, passing Jamie Woods for the lead on Lap 17 and driving away for the final eight laps to score the win. Bainbridge competed despite being struck in the face with a rock during his heat race. The rock came through his window net and hit him just above his left eye. Bainbridge required stitches, but he still managed to score the victory.

Kyle Hutchinson dominated the 20-lap NYPA TQ Midget feature, passing Arik McGruder for the lead on Lap 3 and never looking back. Series points leader Dave Wollaber finished second, followed by Tommy Catalano, Andy Nye and Erik Musto.

Kyle Hutchinson
Lancaster National Speedway wraps up the month next Saturday, August 27 with Truck Night presented by Hunter Truck Sales and Peterbilt of Buffalo. The Race of Champions Big 10 Super Stocks will join the Sunoco Sportsman, Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks and Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders. Anyone with a current CDL license can get in for just $5. Find out more at

No comments:

Post a Comment