Pages

Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Hinchcliffe overcomes penalty to finish 14th at Road America

James Hinchcliffe during the Saturday practice at Elkhart Lake
credit: IndyCar/Torchia Communications
After being relegated to a 22nd-place starting position due to a Race Control-imposed penalty for blocking Alexander Rossi during qualifications, Oakville, Ontario’s James Hinchcliffe rebounded to a 14th-place finish in the Kohler Grand Prix on Sunday at Road America in Elkhart Lake, WI, just ahead of Rossi, the Indy 500 winner.

The official explanation for the penalty was: "Pursuant to Rule 8.3.7, 5-Hinchcliffe had best two lap times invalidated in his session for qualifying interference."

“Kind of a bittersweet day,” said Hinchcliffe. “The Arrow car was really good on the reds and we went off sequence a little there to try and get some clean track and pumped out a lot of quick laps and made some gains on some guys. I had a spin early on in the race, which really killed us not having a yellow early on to catch back up.”

“As for the penalty, Race Control got it wrong and I’ll leave it at that.”

Will Power led from green to checkered to take the win on Sunday, barely holding off Tony Kanaan at the checkered flag. Kanaan almost caught Power on his fresh red tires, with Power struggling on primary blacks, but Power had just enough at the end and held on.

The next race on the Verizon IndyCar Series schedule is the Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway in Newton, Iowa on Sunday, July 10. Keep up with the action at www.indycar.com, and follow Hinchcliffe at www.hinchtown.com.

Quotes in this piece provided by Torchia Communications.

No comments:

Post a Comment